Books Read in December 2017

REVIEWS 

EVERLESS

Sara Holland

In a world where time is currency, Jules secures a job as a servant at Everless. She knows she’s in a dangerous place, but it’s worth it if she can find out more about her past. She gains access to to those who can give her answers. But the closer she gets the more danger she’s in.

This is an amazing idea! A fantasy world where people work for time and pay with time, extracting blood to create coins. I couldn’t wait to read it and I was sucked in from the moment I started. It was fast-paced and easy to read, with an effortless flow to the story that had me hanging on every word. I couldn’t stop thinking about it every time I put it down.  Perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Sin Eater’s Daughter.

Links: The Book Depository, Amazon, Wordery, Goodreads

THE CRUEL PRINCE

Holly Black

Jude and her twin sister Taryn were children when their parents were killed and they were taken to Faerie. The girls are both human and at seventeen are trying to find their place in this magical place they call home. Neither want to leave, both want to belong. Jude wants to prove herself in a world that thinks less of her because of her mortality, and in doing so she finds herself mixed up in a game of violence and deceit among royalty.

This was beyond brilliant. A twisted fairy tale set in a wicked and beautiful world. With a cast of fantastic characters, Jude had me fiercely rooting for her from the start. Betrayal, secrets, mystery, romance and so much more had me completely swept up in this fantasy world. It’s pure magic.

Links: The Book Depository, Amazon, Wordery, Goodreads

ZENITH

Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

The all-girl crew of the Marauder have plenty enemies. When one catches up with them, they’re made an offer they can’t turn down. They’re to travel to a high-security prison on a rescue mission. But with unknown threats and unravelling peace, danger and destruction rapidly approaches. This was an exciting read that gripped me from the start! I loved the idea of space pirates and the Bloody Baroness. The space setting and different worlds were wonderful and I’m looking forward to seeing how the story continues.

Links: The Book Depository, Amazon, Wordery, Goodreads

 

(See all reviews on Goodreads here)