Books Read in June 2017

REVIEWS

ALWAYS AND FOREVER, LARA JEAN

Jenny Han

High school is almost over for Lara Jean. She and Peter are waiting to hear back from colleges, her dad is getting married, and she’s planning her future. And then everything changes, and Lara Jean has some big decisions to make in this anticipated final novel.

What a treat to be back with the Song girls with this surprise follow up! These books are inspiring and full of heart. I have adored every book in this series, so much that I’ve baked Lara Jean’s cookies at Christmas for the past three years – it’s become a Christmas Eve tradition of ours. I know I’ll always come back to these books. They are just wonderful!

Release date: 4 May 2017

SPELLBOOK OF THE LOST AND FOUND

Moïra Fowley-Doyle

After a party at a bonfire, belongings start to go missing. It starts off small but becomes more serious. Olive and her friends find an old spellbook, which might hold the answers or hold something more dangerous between its pages. The group must unravel the mystery around the spellbook and how it has been used in the past if they have any hope of finding the lost things.

The Accident Season quickly became one of my all-time favourite books so I was really looking forward to reading Spellbook of the Lost and Found. I love the atmosphere of Moïra Fowley-Doyle’s stories. There’s a Practical Magic feel to her work that I can’t get enough of. I love this author’s haunting tales of whispered spells, cursed families and strange happenings. Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and April Genevieve Tucholke.

Release date: 1 June 2017

CITY OF SAINTS AND THIEVES

Natalie C Anderson

Set in a fictional city in Kenya, Tina is an orphan, a thief, and part of a gang who’re breaking into a high-security mansion to steal files from a computer. Tina has her own reasons – the office she breaks into is where her mother was murdered, and Tina wants revenge. When she’s caught in the office, the truth comes out and Tina starts to doubt who killed her mother. She leaves the city in search of answers, but what she’s digging up has the potential to put her and those she loves in danger.

I read this whirlwind action story over two days. Fierce characters, thrilling adventure, high-risk danger and layered mystery comes together in this fast-moving adventure I couldn’t put down. It had me inventing then scrapping my own theories with each turn of the page. An excellent debut!

Release date: 6 July 2017

SHOW STOPPER

Hayley Barker

Welcome to the deadliest show on Earth . . . In a near future UK, where society is split in two, Ben is the son of a government minister and Hoshiko is a tightrope walker in the circus where performers are forced to perform dangerous, often fatal, acts for entertainment. Weaving together two sides of the story, we see what horrors the circus has on offer as Ben comes to understand what’s really happening around him

A dark, dystopian read, told in short chapters that kept the pace racing forward and on with the show. I’ve read a few circus books recently and I loved how different this was. Both brutal and magical, this was a creative, thrilling story that I couldn’t stop reading. Impressive debut.

Release date: 1 June 2017

FLIGHT OF A STARLING

Lisa Heathfield

Sisters, Rita and Lo, perform a trapeze act in a small travelling circus. Their lives seem like magic, a dream – until Lo meets a boy from a town they stop in and doesn’t want to move on. He follows her from site to site before she goes too far. For the first time, Lo questions her place in the circus, her life on the road and the sacrifices she’d have to make to change things.

I am learning what to expect from Lisa Heathfield’s books – warm fuzzies followed by utter heartbreak. This is the third book by this author that I’ve read and loved. Each time I’m surprised and impressed by the spectacular writing and magical storytelling. It makes me want to both slow down and soak up each word, and race forward to reach the end. This was no different – beautiful, heartbreaking..

Release date: 29 June 2017

Also read this month:

The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James  (review to come closer to release date)

The Broken Ones  by Danielle L Jensen

Wait For You by J Lynn

(See all reviews on Goodreads here)