Books Read April 2017

REVIEWS

THE ISLAND AT THE END OF EVERYTHING

Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Ami and her mother have always been together, but when a new government take control of the island they live on, Ami is sent to an orphanage across the sea. She meets a girl who is named after butterflies and the two of them set out on an adventure to return to Ami’s home.

Another gorgeously written story from this author. It was breathtaking and heartbreaking – an absolute dream to read. The whole book is magic, from catching stars, to racing berries down a hill, to whispering to the wind. Absolutely beautiful!

Release date: 4 April 2017

SEE HOW THEY LIE

Sue Wallman

Hummingbird Creek is amazing, but the packed schedules and impressive facilities are a distraction from the truth. There’s something off about the centre. Mae starts to realise something isn’t right. She investigates, but rules are strict and cameras are everywhere. It’s almost impossible not to get caught…

This was a really gripping book that’s perfect for fans of Lisa Heathfield’s Seed and Amy Christine Parker’s Gated. It’s an edge-of-your-seat read where the walls are closing in, secrets lie just out of reach, and it feels like there is no escape. The story built to a heart-pounding conclusion and I couldn’t wait to get to the bottom of it. A great second novel from the author of Lying About Last Summer.

Release date: 4 March 2017

SWEETPEA

CJ Skuse

Rhiannon kills again for the first time in years, which sets her down a path of murder that grabs the attention of the police and the media. I’ve enjoyed CJ Skuse’s YA novels, particularly Monster and The Deviants, and I think the author does murder/thriller books really well. As a fan of Dexter, I knew I had to read this adult debut. I loved the idea of a Dexter/Bridget Jones combination and I definitely got that from the book. The story was shocking at times, funny at others, and the end took me by surprise. I read this was optioned for TV, which I can see being great!

Release date: 20 April 2017

I HAVE NO SECRETS

Penny Joelson

Jemma can’t communicate. She sees what others miss. Her carer’s boyfriend confesses to murder because Jemma can’t tell, but new technology means she could be able to communicate, which puts her in danger…

Jemma’s voice was wonderful. I knew I was going to enjoy her story from page one. The murder mystery and thriller aspect was something I really enjoyed too. I read through this one quite quickly. It was gripping, thought-provoking and fast-paced – a great debut.

Release date: 4 May 2017

Also read this month:

One by Sarah Crossan

(See all reviews on Goodreads here)