November 2016 Book Reviews

SUPER AWKWARD

Beth Garrod

Bella’s having the worst holiday ever while her friends are having a party back home. But things soon take a turn for the better when Bella meets Zac. Returning home to rumours following the party, Bella shares everything about Zac with her friends, but the information reaches the wrong ears. When her ex starts insisting Bella made Zac up, Bella tries to prove he’s real by getting him to be her date to prom. Only nothing in Bella does is quite so straightforward… This was such a funny book and reminded me of my teens and reading Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging. Filled with drama, embarrassment, friendship, boys and SO many laugh-out-loud moments, it’s a great pick for fans of Louise Rennison and Holly Smale.

THE ROMANTICS

Leah Konen

When Gael gets his heart broken for the first time, Love steps in to guide him through it. But Gael’s on a path of his own and Love has their work cut out to set him back on course to find his true match… This was a sweet and charming story of falling in and out of love. A really unique idea with good humour and lots of cute! Narrated by Love, who can influence but not control the characters, readers get a great all-round view of what everyone is thinking and feeling. I thought it was fab!

TWO SUMMERS

Aimee Friedman

Summer’s summer is split in two when in one version of reality she answers and a ringing phone and in another she doesn’t. The decision divides her summer into one she spends at home in Hudsonville, New York with her mother and one she spends in France with her father. The two experiences line up with important moments and revelations, and Summer’s journey in both versions is meaningful. This was a fun read about changes and taking chances, facing challenges and making decisions. Such a fantastic idea and really well done. I’d recommend to fans of Ingrid Jonach and Kasie West.

 

Also read this month:

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolaz

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Freeks by Amanda Hocking (review to come in next month’s wrap-up)

Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle (review to come in next month’s wrap-up)

(See all reviews on Goodreads here)